top of page

India, Mix-Ups, Preparations

I found out that the page listed with my church had to be taken down. I was able to get it so that the link redirects to the donations page, it just doesn't have information about the trip. Or any updates or prayer requests. So I'll be posting pretty much everything here, on my repurposed Ecuador new India Blog. So here's the letter, with ideas and thoughts coming soon.

Dear Friend in Christ,

I pray that when this finds you, you are well! For just a moment, I wanted to let you know of some things happening in my life. Since graduating from California Baptist University last May with a BS in Civil Engineering, I have been working as an Engineering Intern at a structural engineering firm in downtown Los Angeles called Thornton Tomasetti. Over these past months, I have grown incredibly in my understanding of engineering, and my desires for how to use it have become all the more clear. You see, I entered that program at CBU because I had a calling from God towards mission work in developing countries to not only share Christ’s love and light, but to also contribute meaningfully in ways that would help meet physical needs such as developing roads and infrastructure, providing clean drinking water, creating waste water drainage systems, etc. The field of Engineering was a natural fit for my abilities and would help me go into countries that would not be too friendly towards “missionaries”.

I know many of you had so faithfully and generously supported my work first in Japan and more recently in Ecuador, where I can truly say your prayers are what sustained me in a dark and lonely time.

Working these past eight months have been hectic, but an opportunity has arisen that I’m beyond excited to share with you. I will be joining with Mid-India Christian Mission, an organization that my home-church has long supported and partnered with, for a full month starting on February 18th, 2019.

In total, I have three goals for this trip:

  • First, I aim to serve in whatever capacity this organization may need. Among other things, Mid-India runs an orphanage and a technical school. During my time there, I would help with physical and office work at the headquarters as needed, I will be able to work with children both in the compounds and in the surrounding villages, and I will have the opportunity to work with students at the technical school.

  • My second goal for this trip is a more long-term goal. Recently my Pastor shared his vision for the church with me over lunch. His desire is to begin sending out teams regularly to join our international missionaries so that our church body can begin building direct connections with our Christian partners in the field. On this trip, I would take the time to build connections and grow in familiarity with the culture (in India) so that I would be equipped to lead these future teams.

  • The third goal is perhaps the most daunting and long-term, but I trust God to provide for me. I will be seeking to connect with missions-based engineering organizations that I may be able to work with in the future should that calling be confirmed for India.

As always, I covet your prayers as I cannot do this trip alone, in my own strength. If you would pray for me, both for preparations, as well as throughout my time in India, I would greatly appreciate it. I have seen the power of prayer, and having a community of believers praying for me will be uplifting.

Secondly, I would like to ask for funding for this trip. With the cost of airfare, room and board, international insurance, and other day-to-day costs, I will need to raise roughly $5,000. To whatever capacity you are able to help, I would greatly appreciate your help, and please know, this trip would only be made possible because of supporters like you. If you would like to write a check, please make it out to University Christian Church and memo it for Liam’s Mission trip. Online giving can be done at:

www.univcc.org/Liam-Thompson

You can designate any donations to "India Missions Trip."

I would like to thank you in advance for any means of support you contribute. Such an opportunity is not possible without people like you coming alongside me through this process. Your prayers and/or financial support will continue to move me forward for God’s Glory! If you have any questions or would like to know more, feel free to contact me over email or phone, both of those will be provided below.

In Christ,

Liam Thompson

Mobile: (310) 736-5703

Email: Liamthompson@integrity.com


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page